Some disappointing news

Fortunately, the news has nothing to do with my quest or Johnny (unless the universe is giving me messages in metaphors).

Cannes has begun, but my Google Alerts and close monit0ring of press photos from Cannes, indicate that Johnny isn’t there yet.   I’ll be damned if I go to Cannes and all I see is Anglina Jolie posing with a giant panda.   I’ll go next week.

While I’ve been waiting for Johnny to return to the South of France,  I’ve been trying to catch sight of another one of those tiny hummingbirds like the one I saw a couple of weeks ago while practice-stalking Johnny in Vidauban.   Everyone I mentioned it to said they’ve never seen such a thing.  I’m starting to consider the possibility that this tiny hummingbird may be as rare and magical a sight as…well, Johnny Depp.

Clearwing hawk moth

I haven’t seen another one, so I finally get around to Googling it.

I find lots of videos and images of tiny hummingbirds, but it’s impossible to get a sense of scale.   Then I find something totally disconcerting.   This tiny hummingbird I saw might actually be a moth.   A clearwing hawk moth to be exact.

Bummer.   I hope this isn’t sort of portent. What if when I finally find Johnny, instead of him being a rare and magical creature like a tiny hummingbird, he turns out to be a moth?  Or worse, a bee or rattlesnake?

Leave a Reply

