The lesson of the tiny hummingbird

According to Google alerts and my sister in law, Johnny is in California right now.   I’ve always been a go-getter, so I figure I’ll take a test run to Plan de la Tours by bus today.   Being familiar with the route should be helpful when he actually gets here.

I get to the bus stop at Place du Clemenceau and start thinking it’s really too nice of a day to be cooped up in a bus when there’s absolutely no chance of actually seeing Johnny Depp when I finally reach the destination.Come to think of it, there’s just as good a chance he’ll walk by one of the cafes here at Place du Clemenceau in Vidauban.  Why I don’t practice stalking him right here?

I stake out a spot in the square and keep my eyes pealed.

After three cappuccinos, some sort of flanny moussey tiramisuey thing with a dark chocolate shell that wasn’t my favorite even though it had so much potential,  I’m getting a little antsy.

But then something in a nearby planter catches my peripheral vision.   What looks like a large bee flitters in and out of the pansies.   I study it closely, trying to decide if I should flee.   As it flitters, the sun catches it and the tiny creature reflects different colors.   Then I see the beak and realize it’s a  hummingbird so tiny, a person could have swatted it thinking it was a fly!   I’m telling you, I’ve never seen anything like it!     I try to get a picture of it, but it’s too fast and too small and my hands are shaking from too much caffeine.

Granted, A tiny hummingbird sighting may be small consolation when the big prize is Johnny Depp and being invited to spend the summer in a wing of his villa.    I’m just trying to make the best of a difficult situation here.

the tiny hummingbird

When you think about it, today did provide a valuable lesson to this beginning stalker:   Don’t drink coffee on a stake out, because you’ll never get a good picture of your stalkee.  God, I’d be so bummed if that tiny hummingbird was Johnny Depp and this was the best picture I got of him.

2 Responses to “The lesson of the tiny hummingbird”

  1. out. of. control. so good. you know i cant find the bird. yes, good thing it wasn’t johnny! but the photo is incredible.

Leave a Reply

